About · Uncategorized

Seven Favorite Thrift Store Finds

Today, I made a trip to one of our local Goodwill stores, and I thought it might be nice to post my seven favorite thrift store finds for Thrift Store Thursday!

IMG_5684

Bear in mind, that I am by no means a fashionista. I just pick things that look nice and pray they fit when I try them on!

If I were to estimate, I would say almost half of my school clothes come from thrift stores. I also like to shop at stores like Burlington and Boscovs, and occasionally I splurge on some Lularoe leggings or Honey & Lace tops. (If you do not know about Honey & Lace, check out Honey & Lace by Cassie on Facebook. I have three shirts that I absolutely love!)

My main strategy when shopping at a thrift store is to buy mainly brand name clothes. You know, things I could never pay full price for! For example, today, I found a Calvin Klein dress with tags still on it. The original price was $128.00, marked down to $49.99 at Ross, but $15.00 at Goodwill! (I realize that some of the brands I am going to name are not impressive to some people, but for someone shopping in thrift stores and living the rural life, it’s good enough for me!) I look carefully over the clothes for imperfections, such as pulls in the fabric, stains, or unpleasant smells.

Many times, I have a specific purpose in mind for going to a thrift store. Trying to look through everything can be overwhelming! Whether it be looking for dresses for school, or sundresses for summertime, sweaters, or comfortable clothes for home, I usually go with some semblance of a plan. I do deviate and look around at other things too.

Today, I was looking for shorts for my husband. I found a few that were nice, but unfortunately they were not in his size. Thrift stores are hit or miss when it comes to finding what you are looking for in your size. But usually there are so many clothes, there is something that will work!

IMG_5693

I found a few things for myself today. I bought a pair of salmon Gloria Vanderbilt capris and hot pink Tommy Hilfiger capris. I spent $8.25 total!

I went through my closet today in an attempt to find my seven favorite things that I purchased at a thrift store. The first four were a no-brainer. But when I got to the last three, it became a little harder to narrow it down! But, I finally got everything together, and here is my thrifty list!

1. Calvin Klein Denim Jacket

IMG_5699

This is by far my best thrift store investment! This jacket is great for all seasons during the school year! I can wear it all day to make a sleeveless dress winter-friendly! I can wear it to school in the morning and take it off as my room heats up. It can be worn over nearly any dress or shirt. It is so versatile, and it was cheap!

2. Chaps ¾ Sleeve Floral Dress

img_5701.jpg

When I purchased this dress, I took another Chaps dress to the dressing room with me that still had the tags on it! I do not remember the exact price, but it was not cheap! Unfortunately, the brand new dress did not fit me quite right. This dress, however, fit amazingly! There is a little cinch at the side that makes it very flattering. This is probably my favorite dress to wear in the wintertime.

3. Lord & Taylor Leopard Print Dress

img_5700.jpg

I love dresses that flare at the bottom. Like, if I spin in them, it would look like I am wearing a circle. This dress is so comfortable! The pattern is subtle, but wild enough to suit my tastes. Generally, dresses at Goodwill are somewhere between $5 and $8, so to get a Lord & Taylor dress for that price is pretty impressive!

4. Chevron Dress

IMG_5702

This dress is a prime example of shopping with a purpose. Each year, the school where I teach holds a benefit auction. I like to buy a “new” dress for the event. I bought this dress to go to our banquet two years ago. I love to wear it to school, as it is comfortable, flowing, and allows for free movement.

5. Braided Neck Sleeveless Top

IMG_5696

This shirt looks amazing with a pair of white shorts! It is classy and young, all at the same time.

6. Animal Skin, Crochet Back Top

This shirt is awesome! There are a variety of animal skins and feathers, including snake, leopard, and peacock throughout this top. The sleeves are flowing, it is not tight around the waist area, and the back is very interesting! The top portion of the back is made of a crocheted material.

7. Teal Capri and Sleeveless Lotus Top Outfit

img_5703.jpg

You can probably guess by looking at these capris and the ones I bought today that I like vibrant colors! These capris are made of a smooth, stretchy material with a wide, comfortable waste band. I have been blessed with short legs, so the bottoms almost reach my ankles. The top is a button down, and offers a great range of motion for teaching.

IMG_5704

I know I only listed clothing in this post, but thrift stores are also great places to pick up things for around the house. For teachers, they are a great source of books, videos, games, and puzzles.

Do you like to shop at thrift stores? What are some of your favorite finds? Please comment and let me know! Or, you can post a picture on Instagram (@herruralhighness) or Facebook (@herruralhighness12) using #7favs7days!

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow at 7:00 p.m. EST for Day 6 of Seven Favorites, Seven Days!  Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Seven Favorite Thrift Store Finds

  1. I like shopping at thrift stores, too! I also like to think outside the box a bit and find things to “upcycle” for other purposes. Today I turned a dress into a maxi skirt for one of the girls.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t have a picture of it but at Christmas time Goodwill had their quarterly 50% off the entire store sale. I found a brand new Spaulding portable basketball 🏀 net for our driveway, normally it sells for $169.00 it was at Goodwill for $70. And I got the 50% off and went home with it for $35!!! Best thrift shop I ever got.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

