About · Uncategorized

Seven Motivational Quotes

In the spirit of Monday motivations, I thought I would compile a list of some uplifting quotes to finish off your Monday!  I know it is a little different from my usual how-to’s and recipes, but I hope you enjoy anyway!

IMG_5595

1. We would all be better off it we loved God and loved each other. ~Phil Robertson

This is probably my all-time favorite quote. While some people may find Phil Robertson abrasive and uncultured, I think he is a very smart man with many things to say that more people should listen to. And I think this quote is spot on! I do not think that Robertson is talking about mushy rainbows and unicorns love. I believe that he is talking about love that genuinely cares about others’ well-being. The love that causes parents to discipline their children. I correct and discipline my students, not because I enjoy it or I am mean, but because I see what they are capable of and I want to help them learn to do right. This is the kind of love that thinks of other people’s needs before our own. I firmly believe that if everyone (myself included!) kept this quote in their minds and tried to live their life this way, the world would be a different place!

IMG_5590

2. She girdeth her loins with strength, and strengtheneth her arms…Strength and honour are her clothing… ~Proverbs 31:17, 25a

This quote is actually two verses from the book of Proverbs in the Bible. These verses come from a chapter that describes the traits of a Godly woman. Women are supposed to be strong! (I do not, however, think that this is saying that all women are expected to be able to dead lift a firetruck!) Women’s bodies were created to be amazing and we should embrace this!

Eight months ago, I completed a marathon. I did not train as hard as I should have, and I ended up walking the last 12 miles. But this amazing body that I’ve been given completed all 26.2 miles!

3. Ability is what you’re capable of doing. Motivation determines what you do. Attitude determines how well you do it. ~Lou Holtz

My yoga instructor occasionally runs her classes in an interval training format. We do a more intense pose for 20 seconds and then a resting pose for 10 seconds. She always said that we can do anything for 20 seconds! There are times when we think we are not going to make it. However, it is so true! Personally, my mindset has a huge effect on how long I can stay in a challenging pose!

One of my favorite shows to watch on television is American Ninja Warrior. The men and women who compete on that show are incredible! One of my favorite parts of the show is seeing when the athletes begin to get fatigued. Watching them dig deep and give every last bit of mental and physical effort is inspiring! For some, pure grit is what gets them to the finish, and that really shows the power of motivation and attitude.

The same thing applies to life. There are things that are going to knock us down. Most certainly. It happens to everyone. We have the ability to cope and overcome. However, our motivation and attitude to do so are what make the difference.

IMG_5599

4. The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go. ~Dr. Seuss

As an elementary teacher, I think it is a requirement to enjoy reading Seuss books! This quote is taken from Oh, The Places You’ll Go! This is definitely my favorite Dr. Seuss book. And it’s held that status from long before I was a teacher! (Although, I must say, there is something exhilarating about getting through one of his tongue-twister books without tripping up!) This quote speaks to my heart as a teacher. My whole job is helping students to learn. Whether it be academic, social, emotional, physical, or any other way that students can learn, that is what I do. Even as you read this, you are learning things that you may not have known! So, you can take that newfound knowledge and use it to take you places in life!

IMG_5601

5. What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter’s footsteps even lighter. ~Kelly Clarkson

There are so many inspirational song lyrics out there! I had to put at least one on my list!

Everyone has heard the age old saying “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.” Well, Kelly Clarkson uses that line in the beginning of the chorus of her song “Stronger,” but changes it up a bit with the second line. And I like the revised version. Sometimes we need to fight for what we want, or for what is right!

IMG_5600

6. Laughter is a sunbeam of the soul. ~Thomas Mann, The Magic Mountain

Who doesn’t like to laugh??

IMG_5596

7. Love is the most important thing in the world, but baseball is pretty good too. ~Yogi Berra

I had to leave you with something a little humorous! And who better to quote than Yogi Berra, the Yankees’ catcher from the late 1940s to the early ’60s. There are all kinds of crazy quotes floating around out there by Berra, but this one especially caught my eye. He is right. Love is important, but growing up with a brother like mine, baseball was definitely pretty good too!

I hope these few quotes helped make your Monday a little brighter! I would love for you to comment and add some of your own favorite quotes!

If you are on Instagram or Twitter, add your own quotes using #7favs7days!

3 thoughts on “Seven Motivational Quotes

  1. These are definitely some good ones! This is my favorite… I taped it inside my locker in high school and still have it saved in a box.

    It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat. ~Theodore Roosevelt

    Like

Leave a Reply

