Gardening · Home & Garden · Household · Uncategorized

Homemade Essential Oil Bug Spray

With this being a holiday weekend, I thought it would be a good idea to refill my bottle of insect repellent. We have picnics and fireworks galore, and I don’t really want to deal with the aftermath of mosquito bites.

IMG_5374

The oils I use work for my husband and I, but I know there are so many other recipes for bug spray out there. I encourage you to do a little research of your own. I found some charts on Pinterest that I found helpful, and you can find them here and here.

IMG_5376

I started with a four ounce amber glass bottle that I bought from Amazon. I poured in 2 ounces of witch hazel, which filled half of the bottle.

IMG_5377

I then added 30 drops of Lemongrass essential oil. I looked at the dilution suggestion on the back of the bottle, and then looked at a conversion chart for various percentages of oils in different sized bottles. You can find it here.

IMG_5378

Next, I added 15 drops of Citronella essential oil.

IMG_5380

I added 5 drops of Patchoulli essential oil. (The chart said that flies and gnats are repelled by this oil.)

IMG_5379

I also added 10 drops of Lavender essential oil.

IMG_5375

I finished the mixture by filling the rest of the bottle with distilled water.

Because the oils separate from water, make sure to shake the bottle well before using it.

I usually spray it all over my legs, arms, neck, and in my hair. I do my best to keep it away from my face though, just because I do not want to run the risk of getting oils in my eyes.

That’s all there is to it! It does not take long at all to mix up, and the bottle usually lasts me for a while. And this mixture works! I have not gotten any mosquito bites this year while using this spray! I would still encourage you to do some research and experiment with different mixtures, just in case what works for my family may not work as well for yours.

Do you have any favorite essential oil bug spray recipes? I would love to hear about them!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Essential Oil Bug Spray

  1. I can’t wait to try this recipe! I just got my patchouli in yesterday and have been looking for a bug spray recipe to try. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

